GET A FREE ANALYSIS

CAPTCHA Image

Facebook’s New Blue Cartoon Dinosaur Providing Users More Privacy and Control on Sharing

Many of us may have experienced accidentally sharing a status update or photo on social media platforms with an entire contact list, instead of just friends. Recognizing the negative consequences of such accidental sharings, Facebook has now come up with new privacy updates that are intended to cut down on such incidents along with a friendly blue dinosaur with a snaggletooth, tapping away at a laptop to help explain them all. Some tech writers have taken to calling this icon Zuckasaurus, after Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook’s co-founder and chief executive.

This most popular social media network has introduced several new privacy features, including a change to default posting settings and the addition of a “Privacy Checkup”. These new selectors will start rolling out in the coming weeks for testing.

Facebook users will continue to be able to customize their settings so that status updates can be seen by as big or small an audience as they want.

For people already on Facebook, the company will roll out a new and expanded privacy checkup tool over the next few weeks. This privacy checkup helps users review things such as who they’re posting to, which apps they are using and key privacy-related information through a few steps. This feature will warn its 1.28 billion users about their current privacy settings. Facebook engineering manager Raylene Yung said that this tool is the result of feedback from users and the company’s effort to improve the user experience.

Facebook Privacy Checkup Tool

To carry out its objective, the dinosaur politely says, “Sorry to interrupt. You haven’t changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you’re sharing this post with the right audience”.

Going forward, when new people join Facebook, the default audience of their first post will be set to Friends. Previously, for most people, it was set to Public. It will prompt first-time posters with a message to make sure they know who their activity is being shared with.

Share Post

Even if users somehow accidentally make their posts public repeatedly, Facebook will send a reminder to confirm they are sharing their activity with the audience they want, and if they don’t make a choice, it will be set to Friends. People can change who they are posting to at any time, and also change the privacy of their past posts.

While social media marketing is crucial for businesses to go viral, it is equally important to be aware of such privacy updates and post blogs or content as per requirement.